The Last List of Mabel Beaumont: The unforgettable book everyone is talking about in 2023

£2.70

The list he left had just one item on it. Or, at least, it did at first…

Mabel Beaumont’s husband Arthur loved lists. He’d leave them for her everywhere. ‘Remember: eggs, butter, sugar’. ‘I love you: today, tomorrow, always’.

But now Arthur is gone. He died: softly, gently, not making a fuss. But he’s still left her a list. This one has just one item on it though: ‘Find D’.

Mabel feels sure she knows what it means. She must track down her best friend Dot, who she hasn’t seen since the fateful day she left more than sixty years ago.

It seems impossible. She doesn’t even know if Dot’s still alive. Also, every person Mabel talks to seems to need help first, with missing husbands, daughters, parents. Mabel finds her list is just getting longer, and she’s still no closer to finding Dot.

What she doesn’t know is that her list isn’t just about finding her old friend. And that if she can admit the secrets of the past, maybe she could even find happiness again…

A completely heartbreaking, beautiful, uplifting story, guaranteed to make you smile but also make you cry. Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, and The Keeper of Stories.

Readers are loving The Last List of Mabel Beaumont:

‘Be still my beating heart. I’ve smiled and I’ve cried and everything in between… I’d give it 10 stars if I could.’ Nicki’s Book Blog

‘Tender and beautiful… As hopeful as it is heart-breaking… I loved it.’ Amy Beashel

‘This beautifully written story of friendship, love, loss and second chances captured my heart. I adored Mabel and her unlikely gang of colourful characters… Leaves you feeling warm, hopeful, and satisfied.’ Lisa Timoney

‘Mabel Beaumont is an absolute treasure… Laura Pearson cleverly, gently, peels back the layers of Mabel’s and her friends’ lives in a way that hurts, then soothes, your heart… An uplifting, life-affirming joy of a novel!’ Emma Robinson

‘I’ve been inundated with books in the uplit genre but this is by far the best I’ve read… moving, life-affirming and utterly wonderful.’ Matt Cain

‘I absolutely loved this book… I adore an older protagonist… who is feisty and not afraid to speak her mind. The story is like a warm hug – but it had spark and wit and humour too. I was bereft when I finished it (far too) late last night!’ Clare Swatman

‘Wow. Seriously. Just beautiful. So many wonderful elements… So many memorable characters… Beautiful and utterly affecting.’ Louise Beech

‘Charming, warm and moving… A beautifully written story about love and longing, and a poignant reminder that it’s never too late to follow your heart.’ Holly Miller

‘I adored it… A heartbreakingly beautiful story about love in all its different forms. (And she made me cry again, of course). Bravo.’ Nikki Smith

‘I finished this in the same 24 hours as I started it. Oh… what a beautiful story… Poignant and inspiring!’ Jennie Godfrey

‘Such a poignant story. Brought a lump to my throat… Will really appeal to fans of Joanna Cannon.’ Karen Angelico

‘A beautiful book about truth, love, relationships and how it’s never too late to follow your heart… Moving, funny and emotionally clever.’ Alison Stockham

‘Wonderful… Uplifting… A brilliant book… Clever and unforgettable. Dive in, and prepare to be inspired.’ Ross Greenwood

Read more

Buy product
EAN: 2000000403700 SKU: 42386DE9 Category:

Additional information

Publisher

Boldwood Books (4 Aug. 2023)

Language

English

File size

4417 KB

Text-to-Speech

Enabled

Screen Reader

Supported

Enhanced typesetting

Enabled

X-Ray

Enabled

Word Wise

Enabled

Sticky notes

On Kindle Scribe

Print length

314 pages

Average Rating

4.75

08
( 8 Reviews )
5 Star
75%
4 Star
25%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

8 Reviews For This Product

  1. 08

    by Theogeorge

    First, I want to say that I loved this book but there were a few anachronisms which I would like to see dealt with before the well-deserved TV/film version.
    Mabel says she remembers “itchy tights” during childhood church services. Outside the theatre, there were no tights during that period. Little girls wore socks and older girls and women wore stockings.
    There is mention of an “emergency” telephone during a car breakdown. These are a feature of motorways and would not have existed on other roads during this period. Although there would have been regular telephone boxes even on country roads (see any episode of “Heartbeat” for confirmation).
    I calculate that Mabel was born in 1937 so would have started grammar school in 1948. I think it most unlikely that they would have been studying ” causes of the second world war” on their history syllabus. I started grammar school in 1960 and the closest we got to modern history was causes of the First World War. It would all have been far too recent.
    Mabel, reflecting on what would have happened if she and Dot had shared their life, mentions the possibility of a jail sentence. Female homosexuality was never explicity outlawed in UK legislation. Although they would have faced many problems, imprisonment would not have been one of them.

  2. 08

    by Kindle Customer

    I really enjoyed this story, being of a similar age as Mabel I could relate. It was so interesting watching how all their lives worked out. Great story.Thank you so much.

  3. 08

    by J Wilkinson

    I wasn’t sure I was going to like this at first, as the start is quite downbeat, an elderly couple leading a fairly humdrum life, and then one morning Mabel finds her husband Arthur has died in the night. He’s pre-arranged for a carer to go in to see to Mabel for three months, and whilst at first she thinks this an imposition, a friendship forms with the ‘carer’ which widens to include the carer’s dance teacher, and the girl at the supermarket, and the young mum nearby who likes Mabel’s dog, and soon Mabel is opening up and trying new things in a way which would have amazed her late husband. In fact she is interfering in everyone’s life, with mixed results. The one thing she really wants to do though, is to find her old friend, Dot, who had dated Mabel’s late brother Bill. After Mabel’s wedding, they had lost touch and she has always regretted it. This is a poignant tale of loss, of second chances, of living life to the full and opening your heart to the opportunities out there. Loved this and will look for more books by this author.

  4. 08

    by Nutmegsmum

    This is a lovely, gentle book – well written and carefully crafted. The story draws you in from the first page and keeps you engaged to the end. Dealing with love, loss and friendships that span generations, it handles some sensitive issues with empathy. It asks and answers so many questions: Is it right to intervene in other people’s relationships, no matter how good your intentions? Was your first love real or imagined, a lifelong passion or a teenage crush? And if it was real, can it survive a separation of more than 60 years? And can it be revived after so long? These are themes that will stay in your head long after you have read the last satisfying page. Highly recommended for book clubs.

  5. 08

    by Carol Cochrane

    I wasn’t sure if I really wanted to read this book but I am so glad I did! Mabel’s story is so poignant and touching. And there’s a lesson here for everyone. Love the person you love freely and don’t be put off by what others think. Fabulous well rounded characters to get to know and love. Hats off to you Ms Pearson for such a courageous tale of love loss and hope. Thank you for presenting this marvellous book to the world.

  6. 08

    by Amazon Customer

    I loved this book full of fascinating characters and a great storyline. I loved how Mabel, the main character, develops after a big change in her life – no spoiler – you’ll have to read the book to find out what it was. I’m definitely going to read more by this author

  7. 08

    by Jenguinjots

    A lovely read: both heart-wrenching and heart-warming, with very authentic characters and insightful lessons about life, death, love, choices and the passing of time. The characters are so real and their stories so accurately (and sometimes painfully) reflect the complex, imperfect lives we all lead. I really enjoyed feeling a part of Mabel’s journey.

    My only personal criticism is that the ending felt a little rushed and neat, given the complex emotions and histories explored earlier in the story. Although I was delighted for the characters, I felt a little more complexity and even ambiguity was warranted in the final pages.

  8. 08

    by La Kennedy

    I needed a change, after reading lots of thrillers and war books. This popped up and as it didn’t cost anything, I thought I would it a go. It’s a delight of a book. Mabel’s husband of 62 years has died, so it’s a time of grief, memories and regrets. But Mabel’s life soon changes, with new friends and a search for an old friend. I can’t fault the book. The characters were fully rounded, and I loved the authors turn of phrase. She had 86 year old Mabel down to a t. Ultimately, this book is uplifting and new beginnings. It definitely makes you look at how you’ve lived your own life. I just loved it.

Main Menu

The Last List of Mabel Beaumont: The unforgettable book everyone is talking about in 2023